images2

If you know anything about what is currently popular to read, I’m sure you’ve heard of W.M. Paul Young’s “The Shack”.  The tagline is “Where Tragedy Confronts Eternity.” Descriptions and reviews said “It wrestles with the timeless question: Where is God in a world so filled with unspeakable pain?”

I was skeptical and hesitated to pick it up. I am not a fan of religious fiction, I think it is usually far fetched and often authors totally miss the point they were aiming for. But, who hasn’t wondered why there is tragedy and sadness if God has the power to stop it.  It was recommended to me by so many, that I figured I should read it.

I absolutlely think Young got it. This book tells a story that I believe readers can relate to. Young describes God and his intentions in such a way that you are forced to at least consider it to be truth. I can only have faith and hope God is the way Young interprets.

Even though it is a little far-fetched, just as most religious fiction is, it is worth the time it takes to read it. You’ll probably be surprised but I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

