It all began with MTV taping 7 people from all different walks of life who were thrown into living in the same house for a period of about 4 months. Now reality televison can be found on almost every network at some point in the day.

My question is are the relationships that we see on reality television real relationships or are they completely staged? Personally I don’t see why anyone would subject themselves to the reprecussions of having the entire country witness what they would normally do in just their private lives.

 whitney-port-sexy-beau

I really began considering this as I watching one of my guilty pleasure shows, MTV’s  The City. This show consists of camara crews that follow around, announced of course, the shows main characters. This past week star Whitney Port’s boyfriend of a few short months JayLyon has had to move in with her due to a recent roommate crisis. But when Lyon’s ex-girlfriend is in town, camaras show him at a bar with her and them leaving together. We later find out that he was out with her all night, until 6 a.m. Now it isn’t the situation that really blows my mind, because this kind of thing happens every day. What does blow my mind is that Lyon knew he was being filmed and knew that at least after the season was over that Port would see the footage. So why on earth would you do something like this on camara, when you know that it is just convicting you? This is what causes me to think that there is no way that all of these reality tv shows that claim to show only the truth can be all that real. But I guess we’ll just have to take their word for it. You can watch the full espisode here for free.

